Advisory Council

Advisory Council

The Advisory Council comprises senior leaders from the business community engaged in the development of the energy sector and shaping its future directions. The Council members help guide our future initiatives, provide input to our strategic research directions and help to further the Institute's goals and mission.

David McFadden
Chair, International Practice
Partner, Gowling
Lafleur Henderson LLP 
 Andrew Teichman
Former Executive Director of Investments
OPG Ventures Inc.
Paul Murphy.png 
Chair, Advisory Board
Advanced Energy Centre
MaRS Discovery District
 George Greene
Stratos Inc.
Bruce Campbell_BIO.jpg Bruce Campbell
Former President & CEO
Independent Electricity System Operator
 Carmine Marcello.jpgCarmine Marcello
Executive Director
 Hetherington Kearney Group

 Bill Smith.jpgWilliam Smith
Senior Vice President Operations & Engineering
Terrestrial Energy
 Steve Dorey
Former Chair, Energy Council of Canada Studies Committee
 Jatin Nathwani
Executive Director
Waterloo Institute for Sustainable Energy
University of Waterloo
 John Wilkinson
President & CEO
  Wilkinson Insight IncorporatedFormer Minister of Environment,
  Ontario Government
 imbrognoprofilepic.jpgSerge Imbrogno
Deputy Minister of Energy, Ontario Government
 VMcColl2.jpgVelma McColl
Principal, Earnscliffe Strategy Group
 CELINEEE.pngCéline Bak
President, Analytica Advisors
Colin Andersen
Chair, Energy Council of Canada



Senior Executive Fellow (WISE)

Acting as an Ambassador for WISE and the University of Waterloo, the primary role of a Senior Executive Fellow is to enhance the general intellectual discourse on emerging challenges of the energy sector and to promote deeper engagement of the Academy with government, NGO’s, businesses and international agencies.

Yves Lostanlen
SIRADEL North America (ENGIE)
Don McCutchan
Partner & International Policy Advisor
Gowling WLG LLP


Chris Henderson
President Lumos Energy

  cath.pngCatherine Jackson
Jackson Principled Governance
Steve Dorey

Former Chair, Energy Council of Canada Studies Committee

 canderson.pngColin Andersen
Chair, Energy Council of Canada



Internal Board of Management

The Board provides operational oversight and approval. The directors include:

  • WISE Executive Director
  • Deans of Engineering, Environment and Science
  • Eight regular WISE faculty members from five faculties


Dr. George Dixon, Vice-President, University Research, University of Waterloo


Dr. Jean Andrey, Dean of Environment

Dr. Kankar Bhattacharya, Professor, Faculty of Engineering, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Dr. Giovanni Cascante, Professor, Faculty of Engineering, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering

Dr. Neil Craik, Professor, Faculty of Environment, School of Environment Enterprise & Development

Dr. Heather Douglas, Professor, Faculty of Arts, Department of Philosophy

Dr. Maurice Dusseault, Professor, Faculty of Science, Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences

Dr. Keith Hipel, Professor, Faculty of Engineering, Department of Systems Design Engineering

Dr. Bob Lemieux, Dean of Science

Dr. Keshav Srinivasan, Professor, Faculty of Mathematics, Cheriton School of Computer Science

Dr. Pearl Sullivan, Dean of Engineering

Dr. Olaf Weber, Professor, Faculty of Environment, School of Environment Enterprise & Development

Viewed 6,962 times